Greater Manchester Police

Greater Manchester Police are appealing for unwanted dogs as they begin a new course of dog training Photo:

Greater Manchester Police are appealing for owners of unwanted dogs to donate them to the force.

It comes as GMP begins a course of dog training for new dogs destined to be an additional arm of crime fighting. The dogs, if suitable, will take part in a 13-week course with a new handler where they will be trained in basic obedience, searching open areas of land and buildings for people, tracking on a long line, searching for items of property in different environments and chasing and detaining suspects.

“We train dogs every day and have now come to the stage where we are in need of new dogs for the team. Those dogs that are given to us by the public are initially assessed in terms of their overall demeanour and ability to play and bond with a handler.

“We are looking for either German Shepherds, Rottweiler’s or crossbreeds of the two, aged 12 to 18 months who have a good temperament and are willing to play games with a ball or other dog toys. It may sound like a lot to ask but we do have a high failure rate as many of the dogs we are given with just aren’t suitable for policing duties. **

**”Those dogs that complete their training programme are then paired with a handler and become part of the operational team. All operational dogs live with their handler and become part of their family.”

– Martin Almond, team leader for GMP’s Dog Training Unit

Anyone wanting to find out more or to check if their dog is suitable is asked to contact Dog Training Unit on 0161 8561791.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Greater Manchester Police

  1. Appeeciate this post. Leet me try it out.

  2. Ahaa, its nice discussion onn the topic of this post here at this webpage, I have
    readd all that, so now mme also commenting aat this place.

  3. Undeniably imagine that that you said. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be at the net the simplest thing to understand of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while other people consider worries
    that they plainly don’t recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the entire thing without having side
    effect , other people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  4. Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding
    expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    • Jimbob says:

      Hi if you contact wordpress they will help you or google wordpress and see instructions there should be info on the word press site to help you as well cheers

  5. Hi there, yup this pararaph is actually good and
    I have learned lott of things from iit about blogging.
    thanks.

  6. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!

    It is the little changes that produce the biggest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  7. Tracy says:

    I write a comment each time I especially enjoy a post on a
    site or I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the conversation. Usually it is a result of the passion displayed in the post I browsed.
    And after this post Greater Manchester Police | Stockport SK6.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a comment 😉 I do have a few
    questions for you if it’s allright. Is it just me or do
    a few of these responses look like left by brain dead folks?

    😛 And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post.
    Would you list every one of your social sites like your
    Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new
    scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info
    to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  9. What’s up Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site on a regular basis, if so after that you
    will absolutely obtain good experience.

  10. yenisehir.de says:

    Right away I am going away to do my breakfast,
    later than having my breakfast coming over again to read other news.

  11. Quality content is the key to be a focus for the visitors to pay a visit the website, that’s what this web site is providing.

  12. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read through content from other authors and
    practice something from their websites.

  13. Claudette says:

    Wow! In the end I got a blog from where I be able
    to in fact take helpful information regarding my
    study and knowledge.

  14. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s
    equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.

    The issue is something which too few folks are speaking intelligently about.

    Now i’m very happy that I came across this
    in my search for something relating to this.

  15. Excellent site. Plenty of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And of course, thanks to your effort!

  16. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours
    today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  17. regenhair says:

    Hi friends, iits enormous article aboout tutoringand entirely
    defined, keep it up all the time.

  18. I love what you guys aree up too. This sort of clever work
    and reporting! Keeep up the good works guys I’ve
    incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  19. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site? The
    account helped me a appropriate deal. I have been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered vibrant clear idea

  20. always i used to read smaller posts that as well clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading
    here.

  21. Asking questions are really good thing if you are not
    understanding something entirely, however this article gives good understanding
    yet.

  22. followers says:

    This is a topic that is close to my heart… Best wishes!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  23. I do not even know the wayy I ended up right here, however I believed this
    put up wass great. I doo noot recognize who you are however certainly
    you’re going to a well-known blogger if youu aren’t already.Cheers!

  24. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guss I’ll just
    sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new too everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  25. Kristi says:

    Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Yourr website is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  26. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading
    it, you could be a great author. I will ensure that I bookmmark your blog and definitely will come back someday.

    I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nnice
    day!

  27. Cary says:

    Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of info
    on your page. Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it
    and in my view suggest to mmy friends. I’m sure they’ll be enefited from tuis web
    site.

  28. Valencia says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I couyld add to mmy blog that automatically tweet myy newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and waas hoping maybe youu would have some experience with soomething
    like this. Pllease leet mme know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading youur blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  29. Hi, this weekend is good inn support of me, as this time i am reading this impressive informative post here at my house.

  30. Thanks for another excellent post. Where else may anyone get
    that kind of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for such information.

  31. My brother recommended I might like thius blog.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just
    how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  32. Very good info. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I hafe book-marked it forr later!

  33. Hmm it seems like your site atee my first comment
    (it wass extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what
    I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoyiing your blog.
    I as well am an asliring blog blogger but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers?
    I’d genuinely apprehiate it.

  34. Amazing! Thiis blog looks exsctly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout
    annd design. Great choice of colors!

  35. Great information. Lucky me I foundd yur blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

  36. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are buut certainly you are going to a fmous blogger if you are not already 😉
    Cheers!

  37. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Looking
    through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I’ll send this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

